Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)



Section 324 of the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act, also known as SARA Title III (Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986, PL99-499) requires public notice at least once annually informing the public of the means to access information about extremely hazardous substances that are manufactured, stored, and used within their community. Follow-up emergency notices may subsequently be issued.

Accordingly, information concerning LEPC meetings and SARA Title III hazardous materials planning inclusive of our Fort Bend County LEPC Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Plan, Safety Data Sheets (SDS), hazardous chemical inventory forms, listing of extremely hazardous substances manufactured, stored, or used within Fort Bend County, etc. can be obtained online at http://www.fbclepc.org or by contacting one of our officers by email at info@fbclepc.org.

The Fort Bend County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) was formed in 1987 under federal requirements of the Emergency Planning Community Right-to-know Act (EPCRA) and the Texas Hazard Communications Act of 1986. 

The LEPC works with city/county offices of emergency management to plan emergency response for a chemical release from industrial facilities and transportation sources such as pipelines, rail cars, and tanker trucks.

Membership in the LEPC comes from different organizations including industry, fire departments, emergency medical services, law enforcement, city/county emergency management, and county residents. This sharing of knowledge and resources maximizes the coordination of the LEPC. 

Our LEPC Officers and Committee Chairs are all elected by the members of the LEPC. 

Chair: Jorge Galindo, Applied Optoelectronics “AOI”
Vice Chair: Shayne Carter, Fluor Corporation
Secretary/Treasurer: Bob Gaffney, Citizen Volunteer

Committee Chairs:

  • Administrative Finance: Bob Gaffney
  • Emergency Response:  Alan Spears, Fort Bend County Office of Emergency Management
  • Public Education: Nathan Green, Assistant Fire Marshal, UH Sugar Land

You can contact our Officers by email at:  info@fbclepc.org

You can visit this webpage directly at:  http://www.fbclepc.org

Join our LEPC or update your contact info: 

Facilities must submit their Tier II report as an Adobe Acrobat .PDF file before March 1st each year to:  TierIIReports@fortbendcountytx.gov

Click to view, download or print any of the following LEPC documents:

Showing 55–57 of 57

1 2 3 4 5 6 7